Tech

Twitter To Remove Inactive Users Starting December

Loading...

If you haven’t logged in Twitter by December 11th, your account will be history and its username will be up for grabs again.

“As part of our commitment to serve the public conversation, we’re working to clean up inactive accounts to present more accurate, credible information people can trust across Twitter. Part of this effort is encouraging people to actively log-in and use Twitter when they register an account, as stated in our inactive accounts policy. We have begun proactive outreach to many accounts who have not logged into Twitter in over six months to inform them that their accounts may be permanently removed due to prolonged inactivity.” a spokesperson told The Verge by email.

Twitter hasn’t yet said exactly when recouped usernames will be made available to existing users. The account removal process will happen over many months — not just on a single day, according to the spokesperson.

The Verge has asked Twitter whether those will also be pulled into the inactive pool and ultimately removed as part of this process.

Loading...

“We do not currently have a way to memorialize someone’s Twitter account once they have passed on, but the team is thinking about ways to do this,” the spokesperson said.

It’s not unusual for huge online platforms to do this from time to time. Yahoo launched an account recycling effort in 2013, though some people who grabbed inactive usernames wound up receiving email intended for the old account holder.

Also, usernames with under five characters can no longer be registered on Twitter, so that’s another thing to consider when dreaming about switching to that username you’ve always wanted. The username some other fool is failing to put to good use.

The email being sent out has a subject line of “Don’t lose access to @(username).” Here’s what it says:

Hello,

To continue using Twitter, you’ll need to agree to the current Terms, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Use. This not only lets you make the best decisions about the information that you share with us, it also allows you to keep using your Twitter account. But first, you need to log in and follow the on-screen prompts before Dec. 11, 2019, otherwise your account will be removed from Twitter.

Loading...

Related posts

What Is a ‘Shadow Ban,’ and Is Twitter Doing It to Republican Accounts?

admin

YouTube Music Replaces Google Play Music As A Default player For Android

Nairobi Guru

What Stays on Facebook and What Goes? The Social Network Cannot Answer

admin

Worried About the I.R.S. Scam? Here’s How to Handle Phone Fraud

admin

Scientists Are Looking For 24 Individuals To Be Infected With Coronavirus For Sh400K To Develop A Vaccine

nairobi-exposed

For Android Users, Europe’s Google Ruling Leaves Unanswered Questions

admin

Leave a Comment